The anniversary of V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University is suggested to be celebrated on the state level

Today, on November 27, the Chairman of the political union "For Kharkov! For Slobozhanshchuna!" the people's deputy Valeriy Pisarenko informed that an application with the plea to celebrate the 210 anniversary of the founding of V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University on the state level has been directed to the President of Ukraine Viktor Yanukovich. He said that previously the staff of the university, who initiated the application, addressed him.

The people's deputy noted that V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University is one of the oldest universities of the Eastern Europe; therefore, its anniversary is worth celebrating at the highest level.

"Kharkov National University was founded in 1804, upon an initiative and due to the efforts of the outstanding educator Vasiliy Karazin. The work of the University is associated with such well-known scientists and Nobel laureates as Ilya Mechnikov, Simon Smith Kuznets, and Lev Landau. Now the V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University is one of the leaders in the field of education in our country, and deserves the special attention," Valery Pisarenko stressed.

The 210 anniversary of the University will be celebrated the next year.

Kharkov Emperor University was founded in November 1804 upon an initiative of the public person Vasiliy Nazarovich Kazarin, according to the charter of Alexander I. The ceremonial opening of the University took place on January 29, 1805.

The University gave a powerful impetus to the transformation of Kharkov into the major scientific and cultural center. The University was at the origins of such large universities of Kharkov as universities of jurisprudence, economy, medicine, and pharmaceutical academy, and G. Skovoroda National Pedagogical University and other educational institutions.

By a decree of the President of Ukraine, Kharkov University was granted the status of national and given the name of its founder Vasiliy Karazin in October 1999. During the years of existence of the university over 130,000 students graduated from it. Today the university has 20 departments and 115 specialties.

Присоединяйся к нам на канале в Яндекс.Дзен