The EU has prohibited the embassies to issue Schengen visas to the Crimeans in the territory of Russia

ITAR-TASS with a reference to the press-service of the European Commission has reported that the European Union prohibited the EU embassies and visa centers in the territory of Russia to issue all types of European visas, including Schengen visas, to the Russian citizens of the Crimea.

The EC has reminded that the European Union does not recognize Crimea's accession to the Russian Federation and, therefore, "according to the decision of the European Council, visas to the EU countries will be issued to the residents of the Crimea only in Ukraine, since the Crimea (in the opinion of Brussels) is a part of that country".

The press-service of the EC has also reported that the Crimean residents must apply for visa in the embassy of corresponding country in Ukraine with the national passport.

Moscow insists on legitimacy of its actions towards the Crimea and continues to claim that it is open for a meaningful dialog.

More than 82 percent of the residents of the peninsula participated in all-Crimean referendum, during which 96 percent of the voters voted for reunification with Russia.

The results of the referendum and Crimea's accession to the Russian Federation was recognized by the following countries: Armenia, Abkhazia, Afghanistan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belorussia, Venezuela, Vietnam, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, North Korea, Syria, Nagorno-Karabakh Republic, Transdniestrian Moldavian Republic, Mongolia and South Ossetia.

BRICS member countries - Brazil, India, China and South Africa - condemn the Western sanctions against Russia and noted that such actions would not facilitate resolution of the crisis in Ukraine.

Присоединяйся к нам на канале в Яндекс.Дзен